Keynote Speakers

Dr. Federico Rosei


Professor and Director of Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique,

 Énergie, Matériaux et Télécommunications, 

Université du Québec, Varennes (QC) Canada




Federico Rosei is Professor and Director of the INRS Centre Énergie, Matériaux et Télécommunications, Varennes (QC) Canada. Since January 2014 he holds the UNESCO Chair in Materials and Technologies for Energy Conversion, Saving and Storage and since May 2016 he also holds the Canada Research Chair (Senior) in Nanostructured Materials. He received MSc (1996) and PhD (2001) degrees from the University of Rome “La Sapienza”.

Dr. Rosei’s research interests focus on studying structure/property relationships in nanostructured materials. He has published over 280 articles in prestigious international journals, has been invited to speak at over 295 international conferences and has given over 225 seminars and colloquia, over 50 professional development lectures and 40 public lectures in 44 countries on all inhabited continents. His publications have been cited over 10,200 times and his H index is 53.

He is Fellow of numerous prestigious national and international societies and academies, including: the Royal Society of Canada, the European Academy of Science, the African Academy of Sciences, the American Physical Society, AAAS, the Optical Society of America, SPIE, the Canadian Academy of Engineering, Honorary Fellow of the Chinese Chemical Society, Foreign Member of the Mexican Academy of Engineering and Senior Member of IEEE.

He has received several awards and honours, including a Bessel Award (von Humboldt foundation 2011), the Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry (Royal Society of Canada 2011), the NSERC Steacie Memorial Fellowship (2014), the José Vasconcelos Award for Education (World Cultural Council 2014), the IEEE NTC Distinguished Lectureship 2015–2016, the Lash Miller Award (Electrochemical Society 2015), the Chang Jiang Scholar Award (Government of China), the Khwarizmi International Award (Iran), the Selby Fellowship (Australian Academy of Sciences 2016), the Outstanding Engineer Award (IEEE Canada 2017), the President’s Visiting Fellowship for Distinguished Scientists (Chinese Academy of Sciences 2017), the Sigma Xi Distinguished Lectureship (2018–2020) and the Lee Hsun Lecture Award (2018). 

Dr. Gehan Amaratunga


Professor at Department of Engineering, 

University of Cambridge, UK



Professor Amaratunga is a founder of five technology start-up companies: CamSemi and Enecsys in the area of electronics which have attracted in excess of $120M in venture capital funding and have class leading commercial products in the market, Nanoinstruments in the area of nanotechnology which was acquired by Aixtron AG in 2007 and WindTechnologies and Camutronics which are at earlier stages of product development.

He has published over 500 archived journal and conference papers (~15000 citations) and is an inventor on 32 patents. Professor Amaratunga was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2004. In 2007 he was awarded the Royal Academy of Engineering Silver Medal ‘for outstanding personal contributions to British engineering resulting in commercial success’.

Dr. Morinobu Endo


Distinguished Professor at Shinshu University,

Director of Endo Special Laboratory at The Institute of Carbon Science and Technology,

Research Leader for Global Aqua Innovation Center, Shinshu University 


Professor Morinobu Endo studied electrical engineering at Shinshu University in Nagano, Japan, and obtained Ph.D. in Engineering in 1978 from Nagoya University. In his doctor thesis, he developed the synthesis method of carbon nanotubes, and showed a tubular structure of carbon for the first time in 1976. In 1990, he became a professor of the Department of Electrical Engineering, Shinshu University. His present posts are a Distinguished Professor of Shinshu University, the Director of Endo Special Laboratory at The Institute of Carbon Science and Technology and Research Leader for Global Aqua Innovation Center, Shinshu University. His current interests are science and technology of nanocarbons such as carbon nanotubes, graphene and the development of high-performance energy storage devices (lithium ion battery, electric double layer capacitor and fuel cell) based on the advanced “nanocarbons”.

Prof. Viktor Sverdlov


Professor at the Institute for Microelectronics,

Technische Universität Wien (TU Wien), Austria

Viktor Sverdlov received his Master of Science and PhD degrees in physics from the State University of St.Petersburg, Russia, in 1985 and 1989, respectively. From 1989 to 1999 he worked as a staff research scientist at the V.A.Fock Institute of Physics, St.Petersburg State University. During this time, he visited ICTP (Italy, 1993), the University of Geneva (Switzerland, 1993-1994), the University of Oulu (Finland,1995), the Helsinki University of Technology (Finland, 1996, 1998), the Free University of Berlin (Germany, 1997), and NORDITA (Denmark, 1998). In 1999, he became a staff research scientist at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. He joined the Institute for Microelectronics, Technische Universität Wien, in 2004. His scientific interests include device simulations, computational physics, solid-state physics, and nanoelectronics. 

Invited Speakers

Dr. Ang Yee Sin


Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore 

Speaker's website

Dr. Shweta Agarwala


 Aarhus University, Denmark  

Speaker's website

Dr. Chorng Haur Sow


National University of Singapore, Singapore  

speaker's website

Prof. K.S. Chang-Liao


 National Tsing-Hua University (NTHU), Taiwan   

Speaker's website

Dr. Gia Parish


The University of Western Australia, Australia 

Speaker's website

Dr. Hei Wong


City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong 

speaker's website

Dr. Kelvin Ooi


Xiamen University, Malaysia 

Speaker's website

Dr. Mario Lanza


 Soochow University, China  

speaker's website

Adil Meersha


 Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India 

speaker's website

Dr. P. Susthitha Menon


Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia 

speaker's website

Dr. Pei-Wen Li


Nanoelectronics Center, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

speaker's website

Dr. Ramesh M Thamankar


 Vellore Institute of Technology, India 

speaker's website

Dr. Samaresh Das


Centre for Applied Research in Electronics, 

Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India

Speaker's website

Dr. Shankar Kumar Selvaraja


 Centre for Nano Science and Engineering (CeNSE), Indian Institute of Science,
Bangalore, India. 

speaker's website

Dr. Siva Karuturi


The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia 

Speaker's website

Dr. Tomohiro Amemiya


 Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan 

speaker's website

Dr. Theo Calais


 Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore 

speaker's website

More to follow...